BJP Wins 3 Out Of 5 Graduates’ Constituency Seats In UP Local Polls


BJP’s Avinash Kumar Singh on Sunday bagged the Lucknow graduates’ constituency seat for Uttar Pradesh legislative council with his party emerging winner on total three seats and SP on two out of the five seats following a tough fight for them.

As per the results declared for graduates’ constituency seats gradually since Saturday, BJP bagged a total of three seats with Dr Manvendra Pratap Singh ”Guruji” winning the Agra seat and Dinesh Kumar Goyal Meerut’s.

The Samajwadi Party, on the other hand, bagged two out of the five graduates’ constituencies seats with SP’s Ashutosh Sinha winning the Varanasi seat and Dr Maan Singh Yadav the Allahabad-Jhansi division’s one.

Both the SP candidates bagged the seats divesting them from the BJP, while the BJP’s “Guruji” won the Agra seat divesting it from the SP and Goyal by defeating four-time and sitting independent MLC Hem Singh Pundir.

The third win for the BJP came in the form of Avinash Kumar Singh, who won the Lucknow Graduate constituency, an election official said on Sunday.

The voting for the five graduates’ constituencies along with the six seats for the teachers’ constituencies of the UP legislative councils had been held on Tuesday.

In results declared earlier on Friday for the six teachers” constituency seats, three were bagged by the BJP while two by independents and one by the Samajwadi Party.

See also  Ex-US Defense Secretary Urges Biden To Renounce Sole Control Of Nuclear Weapons