For BJP In Bihar, 2 Deputy Chief Minister Posts, Speaker: Sources


Nitish Kumar is set to be sworn in as Chief Minister for the fourth straight term but with the results this time downgrading him to second place in the ruling alliance, he is likely to have two deputies from ally BJP instead of one, say sources. The BJP is also set to take the post of Speaker in the Bihar assembly.

The decision was reportedly taken at a late night meeting between Nitish Kumar and top Bihar BJP leaders.

Some reports suggest Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi could be the new deputies to the Chief Minister. Mr Prasad has already been named the leader of the BJP legislature party.

Renu Devi, asked about the reports, said she would follow the party’s orders.

Sushil Kumar Modi had been Deputy Chief Minister to Nitish Kumar since 2005 except for the time the Chief Minister formed government with the RJD and the Congress.

When Nitish Kumar dumped the alliance and resurrected his ties with the BJP, Sushil Kumar Modi once again took over as his number two.

The two are believed to share a good rapport.

READ  J&K Coalition To Be Led By Farooq Abdullah, Will Use Old State Flag