Free Trade and Warehousing Zones in India

Buy or sell: Top stock trading ideas by market experts which are good short term bets

There are 8 approved Free Trade and Warehousing Zones (FTWZs) in India.  Out of eight FTWZs, four have been notified.  Out of 4 notified FTWZs, 3 are operational. 

There is no investment made by the Central Government in these FTWZs.  Total amount of Rs.3,315.81 crores have been invested by the private Developers/Co-developers in these FTWZs during the last five years.  Further, revenue of Rs.13,051.19 crores have been generated by these FTEZs during the last five years.

Setting up of New FTWZs (SEZs) is primarily private investment driven. Details of these FTWZs in India is given below:

Details Free Trade and Warehousing Zones (FTWZs) SEZs in India
Sl. No. Name of the developer Location Area Hectares SEZ status
1 Arshiya International  Limited Taluka Panvel, District Raigad, Maharashtra 57.898 Notified/Operational
2 J. Matadee  Free Trade Zone Private Limited Sriperumbudur Taluk, Kancheepuram District, Tamil Nadu 40 Notified/Operational
3 Arshiya Northern FTWZ Limited Moujpur, Bulandshar,  Uttar Pradesh 51.4394 Notified/Operational
4 Arshiya International Ltd. Taluka & District Nagpur, Maharashtra 43.26 Notified
5 Lepakshi Knowledge Hub Private Limited Chillamaturu Mandal, Ananthapur District, Andhra Pradesh 40 Formal Approval
6 ISPRL FTWZ Padur (Indian Strategic Petroleum Reserves Ltd.) Padur, Karnataka 41.20 Formal Approval
7 Cochin Port Trust ThoppumpadyRamesaram Village, Cochin, Kerala 40.85 Formal Approval
8 Venkatesh Coke & Power Ltd. Ponneri Taluk, Thiruvalur District, Tamil Nadu 46.71 Formal Approval


This information was given by the Minister of Commerce and Industry, PiyushGoyal, in a Lok Sabha today.

Leave a Reply