EC freezes AIADMK symbol ahead of by-polls


NEW DELHI: Ahead of the RK Nagar bye Election in Tamil Nadu, the Election Commission of India today freezed the ‘two leaves’ symbol of the AIADMK as part of its interim order.

In a late night order issued by the EC, the two AIADMK factions led by O Panneerselvam and VK Sasikala respectively have been asked to come up with new party names as well as party symbols by Thursday (March 23) morning 10 am. The interim order has been issued ahead of the by-election for which the last date of nomination filing is March 23. A final view will be taken at a later date.

Both factions have been permitted to keep a party name showing their linkage to the AIADMK, the EC order says.

The issue was raised by the petitioners in their petition dated 16th March, 2017. The order clearly says “Neither of the two groups led by the petitioners (Shri E. Madhusudhanan, Shri O Panneerselvam and Shri S. Semmalai) and the respondents (Smt. V.K. Sasikala and Shri TTV Dhinakaran) shall be permitted to use the name of the party ‘All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam'”.

“Neither of the aforesaid two groups shall also be permitted to use the symbol ‘Two Leaves’, reserved for ‘All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam” but both groups can if they do desire, show “linkage with their parent party”.