Jharkhand future rides on hope of investments in power sector

The weight of investment proposals in the power sector is likely to shape the future of the state and its future development when the two day global investors’ summit takes off on February 16.

With Ranchi – the state capital – included in the list of smart cities, power would play a pivotal role in growth, said chief minister Raghubar Das, who holds the energy portfolio as well.

Das has also announced zero power cut by 2017-18 and power to all by 2019. Thus there is immense hope riding on the summit and the promise therein.

The two day summit will have deliberations on investment opportunities in power distribution and supply, transmission and generation – focusing on solar and micro-hydroelectric plants.

Guests and investors from foreign lands will come to know about Jharkhand’s development mission envisaged by the Raghubar Das government.

Keen to make Jharkhand a power hub, Das said Jharkhand villages will be electrified by year end 2017 and all houses would have a power connection by December 2018.

Union power minister Piyush Goyal’s too said the Centre wants to make Jharkhand power surplus by 2019 while attending a Vikas Parv in Dhanbad last year.

In 2015, the Jharkhand Urja Vikas Nigam Limited (JUVNL) officials submitted a `7,000 crore augmentation plan to Das to strengthen the existing power system and network.

The government has earmarked Rs 50 crore each for Atal Grameen Jyoti Yojana and Tilka Majhi Krishi Pump Yojana as well for villages.

The state wants private players to join the power mission, said Jharkhand Bijli Vitran Nigam Limited (JBVNL) managing director Rahul Purwar.Private participation is solicited in rural distribution network franchisee, he said.

Advertisement: Replay Ad

Purwar said, rebidding of Tilaiya ultra mega thermal power plant (UMPP) that was shelved by Reliance Power, 2×660 mw TVNL expansion plan, strengthening of transmission network and new solar power policy, are the key areas where private partnership is sought.

The Adani group signed a MoU with the state to set up1600 MW plant in Godda. The project is mired in controversy however and the opposition has charged the government with making changes in the power purchase scheme. Solar plants: Both off grid and grid connected solar plant schemes have been framed along with 180 kwp grid connected roof-top plants.

The government commissioned rooftop solar power plants installed on 14 state buildings in Ranchi this month.

On October 2, 2015, Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated the country’s first district court–Khunti–which was illuminated by a rooftop power plant. Hydel: RFP approved 26 MW hydroelectric projects at 14 placesion PPP mode. Of these, two 17 MW projects are proposed on river Koel and three projects of 66 MW each will come up on river Sankh. Several micro-hydel projects too are in the pipeline.

PUVNL: The old Patratu Thermal power station (PTPS) has been merged with Patratu Vidyut Utpadan Nigam Limited (PVUNL), the joint venture company of the state owned Jharkhand Bijli Vitran Nigam Limited (JBVNL) and National Thermal Power Corporation (NTPC) last year.

The MoA was signed for 4000 MW power generation in Patratu, besides strengthening of the existing plant. First phase work for three units of 800 MW each (3×2400 MW) will begin soon after land transfer while the present units of PTPS will be modernised to produce 325 MW power.

RAPDRP: Jharkhand is heading towards providing uninterrupted and quality power supply to the people banking on Centrally sponsored restructured accelerated power reforms development programme (RAPDRP).Plans have also been approved for 30 cities under RAPDRP Part-B scheme.

Earlier, cities with more than 30,000 population was brought under the Rs 225 crore restructured accelerated power reforms development programme (RAPRDP) Part-A programme wherein power finance corporation had funded Rs 160 crore.

DDUGJY: Rs 1260.92 crore allotted to complete the pending rural electrification works and provide power to each household in the villages under Deen Dayal Upadhyay Gram Jyoti Yojana (DDUGJY).