Mecca Masjid blast case: NIA court acquits Aseemanand, 4 others in 11-year-old case

A special NIA court in Hyderabad has acquitted all the accused named in the Mecca Masjid blast case citing lack of evidence.

The court observed that the investigating agency had failed to prove the guilt of any of the 10 accused in the case – Nabakumar Sirkar alias Swami Aseemanand; Mohanlal Rateshwar; Lokesh Sharma alias Ajay Tiwari; Devender Gupta; Lakshman Das Maharaj, and Rajender Chowdhary. Two accused, Ramchandra Kalsangra and Sandeep Dange, are still absconding.

All 10 accused are members of a right-wing Hindu organisation called the Abhinav Bharat.  One of the accused, an RSS functionary, Sunil Joshi, was shot when the case was being investigated.

The Mecca Masjid blast that rocked the city of Hyderabad in May 2007 had killed eight and left 58 injured. The blast had also incited riots in various parts of the city in which five others lost their lives due to police firing.

Swami Aseemanand, along with a co-accused Mohanlal Rateshwar, was granted bail in the Mecca Masjid blast case in March 2017 by Special Judge Ravinder Reddy in Hyderabad.  He was arrested in November 2010 from Haridwar in connection with the Mecca Masjid blast case.moneycontrol

%d bloggers like this: